Energy pouches vs energy drinks vs coffee

"Energy pouches" is the name a lot of shoppers use for caffeine pouches: a small white pouch placed under the upper lip, with caffeine listed on the panel and no nicotine. Most people already get their caffeine from an energy drink or a cup of coffee.

A coffee cup, an energy drink can and a CAFERO caffeine pouch can side by side on one shelf

All three contain caffeine. The difference is the form it comes in.

A caffeine pouch is a dry, pre-portioned pouch. The base is plant fibre (E460, microcrystalline cellulose), with water, salt, flavourings, sweeteners and a measured amount of caffeine. You place it under your upper lip and leave it there. Nothing is swallowed, nothing is drunk. In our range every caffeine pouch is Slim format, white, and weighs between 0.6 g and 0.75 g.

An energy drink is a carbonated drink in a can. Caffeine is one ingredient among many; the rest is typically water, sugar or sweeteners, acids, flavourings and often taurine and B vitamins. You drink it.

Brewed coffee is a hot drink made by passing water through ground roasted coffee beans. Caffeine occurs naturally in the bean; nothing is added unless you add it. You drink it too.

The pouch is the odd one out: it's the only one of the three that isn't a liquid.

Caffeine per serving

For pouches, the figure is what the manufacturer prints on the can, per pouch, and what our product pages quote. The drink figures come from Red Bull for its 250 ml can and from USDA FoodData Central for a cup of brewed coffee.

Serving: LEWA BURN, FOCUS, GLOW (one pouch)

Caffeine: 20 mg

Sugar: None; sweeteners

Volume or weight: 0.6 g pouch

Source: Manufacturer panel

Serving: LEWA POWER (one pouch)

Caffeine: 50 mg

Sugar: None; sweeteners

Volume or weight: 0.6 g pouch

Source: Manufacturer panel

Serving: CAMO Bubble Gum, Vanilla Coffee, Iced Mocha (one pouch)

Caffeine: 77 mg

Sugar: None; sweetener

Volume or weight: 0.75 g pouch

Source: Manufacturer panel

Serving: CAFERO Americano, Cappuccino, Vanilla Latte (one pouch)

Caffeine: 80 mg

Sugar: None; sweetener E955

Volume or weight: 0.65 g pouch

Source: Manufacturer panel

Serving: Hicaff Classic Cola, Energy Rush, Fresh Mint (one pouch)

Caffeine: 100 mg

Sugar: None; sweeteners

Volume or weight: 0.7 g pouch

Source: Manufacturer panel

Serving: Red Bull, one can

Caffeine: 80 mg

Sugar: Stated on the can's nutrition label

Volume or weight: 250 ml

Source: Red Bull (manufacturer)

Serving: Brewed coffee, one cup

Caffeine: About 95 mg

Sugar: None unless added

Volume or weight: About 240 ml

Source: USDA FoodData Central

ServingCaffeineSugarVolume or weightSource
LEWA BURN, FOCUS, GLOW (one pouch)20 mgNone; sweeteners0.6 g pouchManufacturer panel
LEWA POWER (one pouch)50 mgNone; sweeteners0.6 g pouchManufacturer panel
CAMO Bubble Gum, Vanilla Coffee, Iced Mocha (one pouch)77 mgNone; sweetener0.75 g pouchManufacturer panel
CAFERO Americano, Cappuccino, Vanilla Latte (one pouch)80 mgNone; sweetener E9550.65 g pouchManufacturer panel
Hicaff Classic Cola, Energy Rush, Fresh Mint (one pouch)100 mgNone; sweeteners0.7 g pouchManufacturer panel
Red Bull, one can80 mgStated on the can's nutrition label250 mlRed Bull (manufacturer)
Brewed coffee, one cupAbout 95 mgNone unless addedAbout 240 mlUSDA FoodData Central

The pouches we sell span 20 mg to 100 mg per pouch. A 250 ml can of Red Bull sits at 80 mg, which is the same number CAFERO prints on its can. A cup of brewed coffee is commonly cited at about 95 mg, between CAFERO and Hicaff. The lightest pouches, at 20 mg, are a quarter of a Red Bull.

First, a pouch is one serving by design and so is a can; a cup of coffee is whatever size the cup is, and the USDA figure is for about 240 ml, so a large mug can hold rather more. Second, these are label figures, not measurements of what reaches you, which varies by product and by person. Caffeine is a stimulant; how you respond to it is individual.

The label line on energy drinks

In Ireland, as across the EU, a drink with more than 150 mg of caffeine per litre, other than tea and coffee, carries the line "High caffeine content. Not recommended for children or pregnant or breast-feeding women" under EU food labelling law (Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex III point 4.1). That is why it appears on a can of Red Bull. A pouch is not a drink. The same annex has a separate line for foods with added caffeine (point 4.2): "Contains caffeine. Not recommended for children or pregnant women". Whether an oral pouch counts as a food is not settled across the EU, and a caffeine pouch can states the caffeine per pouch. Either way, the same groups are singled out.

Sugar and sweeteners

None of the caffeine pouches in our range contains sugar. Sweetness comes from sweeteners, named on each panel:

LEWA BURN Citrus Mint: E968 (erythritol), E950 (acesulfame K), E960 (stevia), E955 (sucralose)

LEWA FOCUS Cucumber Mint: erythritol, Ace-K, stevia (RA97), sucralose

LEWA GLOW Strawberry Vanilla: E968 (erythritol), E958 (glycyrrhizin), E960 (stevia), E955 (sucralose)

LEWA POWER (four flavours): erythritol, Ace-K, stevia (RA97), sucralose

CAFERO Americano, Cappuccino, Vanilla Latte: E955 (sucralose)

CAMO Bubble Gum, Vanilla Coffee, Iced Mocha: "Sweetener" (not specified on the panel)

Hicaff Classic Cola Slim, Energy Rush Slim: E955 (sucralose)

Hicaff Fresh Mint Slim: E955 (sucralose), E950 (acesulfame K), E967 (xylitol)

ProductSweeteners on the panel
LEWA BURN Citrus MintE968 (erythritol), E950 (acesulfame K), E960 (stevia), E955 (sucralose)
LEWA FOCUS Cucumber Minterythritol, Ace-K, stevia (RA97), sucralose
LEWA GLOW Strawberry VanillaE968 (erythritol), E958 (glycyrrhizin), E960 (stevia), E955 (sucralose)
LEWA POWER (four flavours)erythritol, Ace-K, stevia (RA97), sucralose
CAFERO Americano, Cappuccino, Vanilla LatteE955 (sucralose)
CAMO Bubble Gum, Vanilla Coffee, Iced Mocha"Sweetener" (not specified on the panel)
Hicaff Classic Cola Slim, Energy Rush SlimE955 (sucralose)
Hicaff Fresh Mint SlimE955 (sucralose), E950 (acesulfame K), E967 (xylitol)

Those E-numbers are a regulatory shorthand, not a warning. E955 is sucralose, E950 is acesulfame K, E967 is xylitol (also known as birch sugar), E960 is stevia, E968 is erythritol and E958 is glycyrrhizin, a sweetener from liquorice root. All are common across the food industry. The ingredients guide goes through every E-number in the range.

Energy drinks are a different story. The standard version of most energy drinks is sweetened with sugar; the amount is printed on the can's nutrition label and differs by brand and by version. Sugar-free versions use sweeteners instead, much as the pouches do.

Brewed coffee contains no sugar unless you add it, and no sweeteners unless you add those.

Volume, weight and what's left over

A caffeine pouch is small. The heaviest in our range is CAMO at 0.75 g per pouch; the lightest is LEWA at 0.6 g. A full can holds 18 or 20 pouches and weighs between 10.8 g (LEWA, 18 pouches) and 15 g (CAMO, 20 pouches) net. The can itself fits in a pocket.

A can of Red Bull is 250 ml. A cup of brewed coffee is whatever you pour, with the USDA reference at about 240 ml.

What's left afterwards is different too. A used pouch is a small damp pouch to throw away; most cans have a compartment in the lid for exactly that. A drink leaves a can or a cup.

Where each one is used

The form decides the setting.

A pouch is used anywhere you can keep something under your lip for a while and don't want, or can't have, a drink in your hand. It makes no noise, needs no cup, no fridge and no machine, and you can talk with one in. Because nothing is swallowed, there's nothing to spill.

An energy drink is used where a cold can is practical: it needs to be bought chilled or kept chilled, opened and finished. It's the usual choice when you also want something to drink.

Coffee needs a kettle and a cafetière or machine, or a café. It's a drink first and a caffeine source second, and for most people it's part of a routine around meals and mornings.

How long a pouch is kept in

With a drink, "how long" isn't a question; it's done when the can or cup is empty. With a pouch it's a real question, because the pouch stays in place and releases flavour and caffeine over time rather than all at once.

Manufacturers differ, so the can is where to find the recommended time. The general pattern is the same across brands. Place the pouch under your upper lip, leave it until the flavour fades, then remove it and throw it away. Don't chew it and don't swallow it. One pouch is one serving.

If you've used nicotine pouches or Swedish snus, the mechanics are the same format with a different, nicotine-free content. If you haven't, the caffeine pouches guide walks through the first use step by step.

What the label tells you

A caffeine pouch on 24Nico carries an ingredients list and the caffeine content per pouch as the manufacturer declares it. Rules can change; the can in your hand is what applies.

The one figure worth checking across all three forms is caffeine per serving, because it's the only one you can line up directly. For reference, EFSA's 2015 scientific opinion on caffeine gives 400 mg a day and 200 mg in a single serving for healthy adults, counting every source together. For pregnancy, EFSA and the Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI) both give 200 mg a day.

Any exclusions the manufacturer makes are printed on the can.

Where to find them

Every caffeine pouch here is in the nicotine-free range, filtered under caffeine pouches. By brand: Hicaff for the 100 mg pouches, CAFERO for the coffee-flavoured 80 mg line, CAMO at 77 mg, and LEWA for the 20 mg and 50 mg pouches. Prices are in euro with VAT included, and as Ireland is in the EU there are no customs charges or duties on delivery; see delivery for how your parcel reaches you.

The ingredients panel on each can is the source of truth.

FAQ

What are energy pouches?+

Another name for caffeine pouches: small nicotine-free pouches placed under the upper lip with a stated amount of caffeine per pouch. In our range they contain 20 mg to 100 mg of caffeine each, printed on the can.

How much caffeine is in an energy pouch compared with an energy drink?+

It depends on the pouch. The pouches we sell range from 20 mg (LEWA BURN, FOCUS, GLOW) to 100 mg (Hicaff) per pouch; a 250 ml can of Red Bull contains 80 mg according to the manufacturer. CAFERO's 80 mg per pouch matches the can exactly.

How does a caffeine pouch compare with a cup of coffee?+

A cup of brewed coffee of about 240 ml is commonly cited at about 95 mg of caffeine by USDA FoodData Central. That puts it between CAFERO (80 mg) and Hicaff (100 mg) per pouch, and well above the 20 mg LEWA pouches.

Do caffeine pouches contain sugar?+

No. Every caffeine pouch in our range is sweetened with sweeteners such as sucralose (E955), acesulfame K (E950), xylitol (E967), stevia (E960) or erythritol, as named on each panel. Energy drinks typically contain sugar in their standard version; the can states how much.

Why does an energy drink say "high caffeine content" on the can?+

Because EU labelling law, which applies in Ireland, requires that line on drinks with more than 150 mg of caffeine per litre, other than tea and coffee. A caffeine pouch is not a drink; its can states the caffeine per pouch instead.

How long do you keep an energy pouch in?+

The can states the recommended time, and it differs between manufacturers. The general rule is to leave the pouch under your upper lip until the flavour fades, then remove it and throw it away.

Are energy pouches the same as nicotine pouches?+

No. They share the format, a white Slim pouch under the lip, but every pouch in our nicotine-free range contains 0 mg nicotine and no tobacco. The active ingredient is caffeine.

Related guides

Caffeine pouches: the complete guide

Are caffeine pouches safe?

Best caffeine pouches: a shortlist by caffeine level

24Nico.com

Nicotine pouches from the leading brands, dispatched fast and delivered to every address in Ireland.

© 24Nico.com. All rights reserved.

Information

  • About
  • Nic Guide
  • Pouch Guide
  • FAQ

Support

  • Help & policies
  • Contact
  • Delivery
  • Price guarantee

Stay in the loop

New arrivals, offers and guides — straight to your inbox.

18+

Every product 24Nico sells is 100% tobacco-free — plant-fibre pouches, no tobacco leaf. Nicotine products contain nicotine, which is addictive, and are sold to adults aged 18 and over.

100% tobacco-freeFree delivery over €49UPS
Ireland

Pay with

Amazon PaypayApple PayPayVisaVISAMastercardAmerican ExpressAMEXGoogle PayG Pay
KlarnaKlarna
Linklink
PayPalPayPal

Delivery

UPS

Reviews

TrustpilotExcellentTrustScore 4.3 · 9 verified reviews

We collect reviews using Trustpilot.